Capering on Glass Bridges – Jessica Hernandez

 

26209793

The book begins following Kaia Stone as she is chosen with one other to travel to Mar in order to deliver a message that has the power to change the course of that lands future. I will be honest I wasn’t sure what was happening in the book to begin with. We are introduced to characters in an unfamiliar setting with little expository detail. To begin with this is unsettling and made reading the beginning of the novel difficult. As well as trying to understand and connect with the characters we are also trying to learn about events that have preceded this with little context. Further on context is given but, personally, it should have been written towards the beginning. I had no idea where the book was leading.

While I didn’t always know what was happening I was intrigued to find out which is what kept me reading and, Kaia is an engaging character with a sense of mystery into her past, it’s a shame that I didn’t feel engaged with Hernandez’s other characters. With so much happening and lots of characters introduced in such a short space of time I didn’t connect with any of them and I feel ashamed to say so as they all have their own interesting backstory’s.

I think the book has a lot of potential but has failed to fully utilise this. A cursed kingdom with a group of people sent to deliver the message, Kaia has one half of the message while somebody else has the other, the book could have been a rollercoaster of a ride but, the book is over just as quickly as it began. I want to know more about the past and feel fully immersed in the world and invested in the characters, which I am not. I hope in the second book Hernandez takes more time and shows me what is happening as while withholding some information can be beneficial I do not think it aided this book.

I was sent a free copy of this book for an honest review by the author.

Leave a Reply

